Chronic Disease Causes and Prevention

Public health research focused on chronic diseases (e.g., diabetes, cardiovascular disease) explores their multifactorial etiology and develops intervention strategies to prevent and treat these pressing public health problems. SPH researchers are at the forefront of exciting breakthroughs in understanding, preventing, and managing chronic diseases.

Faculty List
Jean Abraham
Professor and Division Head
Bruce Alexander
Professor and Division Head
Lynn Eberly
Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
Joseph Gaugler
Distinguished McKnight University Professor and Robert L. Kane Endowed Chair in Long-Term Care and Aging
Lisa Harnack
Professor and Interim Division Head
Jue Hou
Assistant Professor
Peter Huckfeldt
Vernon E. Weckwerth Professor in Healthcare Administration Leadership
David Jacobs
Mayo Professor of Public Health
Melissa Laska
Distinguished McKnight University Professor
Ruby Nguyen
Morse-Alumni Distinguished University Teaching Professor and Professor
Nancy Sherwood
Professor and Associate Dean for Research
Irina Stepanov
Distinguished McKnight University Professor, Mayo Professor in Public Health
Elizabeth Wattenberg
Associate Dean of Education and Student Engagement